Dan Brown strikes again

Book: The Lost Symbol

Author: Dan Brown

Recommend?? If you are not easily swayed by seemingly intellectual arguments…

Okay, I picked this one up not long after it came out in paperback (there are very few books that I’m willing to pay full price for). I decided to read this because one of the teens at my church was assigned to read it and I knew I had it on my shelves, waiting to be read. I figured it was as good a time as any to pick it up.

I honestly enjoyed reading it. The plot was engaging, fast paced and kept my brain working, although i had figured out rather early the truth about Mal’akh. The rest of it was quite a bit of fun to read. The only issue I had with it is the one I always have with Dan Brown’s writing. While this one did not attack Christianity like his last ones did, it went for a much grander scale and attempted to invalidate every religion (including Christianity).  It honestly makes me wonder where Mr. Brown’s hostility towards Christianity and other religions stems from.

I would say that his books are beginning to feel phoned in. The formula is there and I think in some ways he has stopped trying. The drowning for me was ridiculous. I know that it is possible from a science standpoint but honestly where would the CO2 go?? The final answer felt contrived and like he was attempting to placate the Christians that he had upset with his previous books, even though this one honestly is more sophisticated in it’s argument against God than the first two. I won’t even get started on my issues with his validation of the masons. I think that honestly at this point he is trying to sell books instead of writing something worth reading.

Would I read this again? The plot was enjoyable but the ending made me mad. I might read it again and just NOT read the end.

Final Rating:

Get it free

Leave a comment

Filed under mature themes and subject matter, political thriller, Review, Summer book challenge, thriller/horror

Leave a Reply

