The world of Cassandra Clare

Books: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, Clockwork Angel, and City of Fallen Angels

Author: Cassandra Clare

Recommend: Yes with a slight reservation…

Okay, I picked these books up quite a while ago and read the first three. Over the summer I picked up Clockwork Angel and just never got around to reading it. I have so many different fantasy novels that I’ve devoured lately that I wanted to be clear on the details since this is a very complex mythos. So when the new book came out, I knew I had to pick them up and read through the first three again before getting to the other two. It took me 4 days to get through all five books and I’m still reeling a bit from the ending of the last one.

City of Bones- Clary is just an ordinary girl who can see some very strange things- or so she thought. Her delicate world comes crashing down when she meets a pompous boy named Jace. Her life will never be the same again.

I loved this book. The author introduces you to a complex mythology that combines many different mythos in a new and different way. In a way it almost reminded me of something from the mind of Joss Whedon. I loved the romance and the twists she took with it. I have never read a book like this that took quite that turn. It was unique and heart-wrenching.I honestly can’t think of a single thing I didn’t like about this one except that I’m a sucker for a happily ever after but since there were three books, I hoped that if I kept reading I would get it.

City of Ashes- In this book we watch painfully as Clary and Jace struggle with the truth of who they are to each other and the reality that the are both a part of something that has been dragging on since their parents were their age.

This book and the last book somewhat merge for me honestly. The two story lines flow int each other. I love though that they know the truth and can’t seem to fight it. One of my favorite themes is that yo can’t fight love, no matter what happens. No matter how hard you try to fight it. They both try so hard to fight against what they feel but are unable to, even though it is wrong. In this book you start to see some of the history behind what is going on in their world and you start to get answers that you didn’t have before. I think the only fault I would have with this was the fact that even the first time through I had a feeling of what was going to happen at the end, although it probably wouldn’t be obvious to most people.

City of Glass- This book brings the conflict to a head. It honestly is one large climax. This is the point that the other two books have built towards. I really enjoyed the fact that everything wasn’t tied off in a simple and easy to handle conclusion at the end of each of the first two books. I was glad that I discovered the series once all of the first three books were out though. I don’t want to ruin too much of it by giving away too much plot or how it will end but I promise the ending is worth reading to the end for!

Clockwork Angel- This story is set in London during the late 1800s and is a departure from the first three books and is appropriately it’s own series. However the two are set in the same world of shadowhunters. I loved that this book seemed very orginal from the first even though it did bring in a familiar face or two. I loved Tess and honestly was begging the whole time to know what was up with Will and I think every reader will be wondering that one as well. The end of the first book left me somewhat unsatisfied though because I was wanting a simple and neat conclusion on it, which I didn’t get-yet.

City of Fallen Angels- I just finished this one this evening and I’m honestly very frustrated with this book. I was hoping that she was going to leave Clary and Jace be for a book at least but that doesn’t seem possible. Instantly you can sense that something is wrong with the happy couple but no one has any idea what or why something is going wrong. I love the player version of Simon and that for a while things seemed to be centered around his drama. However we were very quickly back to an impossible mess for Jace and Clary. A character thought gone from the first three books will make a reappearance towards the end and honestly, it is the one thing in this whole series that I genuinely haven’t liked. I know that there is more to come but I want some resolution at the end of a book, especially when I am going to have to wait months if not more than a year for the next installment. I didn’t mind this in the first three books because I didn’t have to wait. This time though, I think I’m going to get annoyed with it. I may have to write something to get my frustration out honestly.

I would definitely recommend reading this and getting started before the series gets much bigger. Each of these is somewhere between 300 and 500 pages. They are quick reads considering how long they are but definitely is going to take the average reader a while to get through. I enjoyed reading them thoroughly and have been hearing rumors of a movie, which I would LOVE to see.

Cassandra Clare isn’t getting quite the exposure she deserves honestly. She should be getting talked about as much as Stephenie Meyer and Suzanne Collins honestly. I would put this series on par with Twilight or The Hunger Games. Definitely worth your time.

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

2 Comments

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

2 responses to “The world of Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: 100 favorite books for my 100th post! | The Obsessive Book Worm

  2. Pingback: Book Review: City of Lost Souls | The Obsessive Book Worm

Leave a Reply

