How to die in a science fiction universe… of boredom!!

 

The cover should have tipped me off!

Book: How to Live Safely in a Science Fiction Universe

 

Author: Charles Yu

Recommend: Umm… no

Okay. I am a huge fan of all things science fiction. I have read a large amount of science fiction and honestly enjoy the genre. So when this book came up on my list of recommended books on my nook, I had high hopes for it and I was extremely disappointed with it.

This book is supposed to be about a guy who gets stuck in a time loop while time traveling. The problem was that the plot line wandered around for half the book until we finally got to the plot line. It was like reading a bad copy of something by Douglas Adams minus the comedy. Honestly it was one of the biggest wastes of time I have ever read. I got the point but honestly I just thought it was a huge waste of the couple of hours it took me to read it.

The writing was poor, the plot was a jumbled mess with very little logic behind it. The only thing mildly amusing was a few Star Wars references. It was literally the only bright spot in the whole abysmal work. I want the hours of my life back that I wasted on this pathetic waste of trees or in my case web space.

Final Rating:

 

TRASH IT!!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

Leave a Reply

