even more Austen :)

I liked the cover for the first book better- thank goodness I'm not one of those judge a book by its cover types

Book: Jane Goes Batty

Author: Michael Thomas Ford

Recommend: Definitely! It is a hilarious romp 🙂

Okay, I have reviewed the first book in this series earlier on my blog in a post called Jane- with a bite ;).  I was thrilled when I realized that the second book was finally here. I loved the first and thought it was one of the funniest things I had read in quite some time and so I was thrilled to get to read the second one.

This one centers around Jane finally admitting how much she is in love with Walter but she is undecided on whether or hot she should actually be with him. She is getting no where with her follow-up book, while her first book is in the process of being made into a movie in her home town. Then to complicate everything, Walter’s vampire hunting mother shows up, knowing exactly what Jane is and wanting her dead. Oh and of course we can’t forget the infamous Violet Gray(at least that’s what she’s calling herself these days) and her notorious rivalry with Jane after she destroyed the remains of her family and left her for dead in a house fire after trying to claim Jane’s first novel in 200 years as her own.

I loved this book! I was thrilled to find that it kept the same feel as the first book and that the author didn’t do anything to bizarre for the universe he created while still keeping our interest with new material. Jane gets a chance to explore more of her powers with the help of Lord Byron which expands the story somewhat and makes Jane seem a bit more vampire-ish. I even loved the three-legged Chihuahua that belongs to Walter’s mother- it was a genius and quirky addition to an already hilarious story.

The only negatives I can mention is that in a few places it felt a  bit too much like reading the first book. Some of the twists and turns in the book were entirely too predictable. I also kept hoping that there would be a new vampire literary figure tossed into the mix- but I was disappointed there is always hope for book three though I guess.

I think my favorite moment was when Byron and Jane were discussing famous vampire hunters and Byron mentions that Abraham Lincoln was one and Jane is aghast and blurts out that she can’t believe the book was true (I did a review of the book Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter in an earlier post).

This book is definitely worth picking up and reading and I can’t wait to read the third installment in this building series. I can’t wait to see if Jane is able to keep her bargain or not.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under historical fiction, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

One response to “even more Austen :)

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Jane Vows Vengeance | The Obsessive Book Worm

Leave a Reply

