Mark of the Lion

The series 🙂

Books: A Voice in the Wind, Echo in the Darkness, and The Sure Dawn

Author: Francine Rivers

Recommend: DEFINITELY!!

Okay in my last post I mentioned a book series that my friend lent me that I completely loved and this is it 🙂 I have to admit, I was extremely skeptical when I started this. I delayed starting it for a bit simply because I didn’t know if I would like it or hate it and I didn’t want to upset my friend who had tried so hard to find books that I would enjoy. So I picked them up slightly worried and within the first twenty pages or so I was completely hooked!

This book tells the story of a young woman named Hadassah who is a servant in a Roman house when Christianity was still new. She falls in love with a man named Marcus but he does not share her faith. She ends up going to the Colosseum to be killed for sport because she is a Christian. Her death changes Marcus’ life as well as his sister’s. I don’t want to give too much away but this is a must read series. It is one of the few works of Christian fiction that I absolutely love!

The writing is solid, the plot is deep and complex and the characters practically leap from the page. I rarely react to books emotionally (I can list the times it’s happened on one hand- 1. When Edward left in New Moon– my book met the wall; 2. The Count of Monte Cristo– enough said 3. The books of Terry Goodkind- every book created an emotional response and usually much more than one 4. Les Miserable- again enough said; and 5. this series) but these brought me close to tears. Even if you aren’t a Christian these are an amazing and intense read, definitely worth the time!

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

2 Comments

Filed under Christian, historical fiction, Review, romance

2 responses to “Mark of the Lion

  1. Interesting blog and useful reviews! If you’d like to post an article on ours or exchange links, please let us know

Leave a Reply

