Sisters

Book: Shanghai Girls

Author: Lisa See

Recommendation: If you don’t mind being hit over the head with obviousness…

I got this book from the library on my nook. It was among the first books I read using my library feature. I picked out a couple of books that I had heard of before and went from there.

This book follows the tale of two sisters who are both ‘beautiful girls’ in Shanghai right before the outbreak of war. Their father goes broke and sells them both off for marriage to men who they think are rich. The girls attempt to get out of the situation but end up on a journey that will lead them to America illegally.

This story is fairly interesting if you are unfamiliar with the culture and treatment of people during the time period. I would say that the plot leaves much to be desired. I knew what the answer to the ‘big’ secret was going to before girls left Shanghai and so it was a bit of a bore. I won’t ruin it for you but it’s nothing to write home about. The sad thing is that it could have been so much more. The author did most things right, but the elements seemed to come together a bit disjointed and just wrong for the story that was being told. It wasn’t an awful book but definitely not one I would pay to add to my shelves.

Final Rating:

Get it free

Leave a comment

Filed under historical fiction, Review

Leave a Reply

