Austen -again :)

Cover shot

Book: The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

Author: Syrie James

Recommend? Yes- if you are an Austen fan and like what ifs…

This book is fiction. Let me say it again- THIS BOOK IS FICTION.

Okay there I said it. This book is introduced from the forward on as a work based on recently discovered memoirs of the late Jane Austen. The set up is great because it really pulls the reader into the story line. The author makes it read somewhat like a biography based on memoirs but it isn’t so heavy that you feel distracted from the story. There are footnotes and such through the story as you read but for the most part they are relevant and interesting. I was a bit skeptical but soon was able to forget that it was in fact fiction and bury myself the world of Austen 🙂 This supposes that they have figured out the missing great love of Jane Austen’s life and how it inspired her writing.

It follows Jane in her early thirties considered an old maid at that point when she meets a friend of her brother’s, one Mr. Ashforth. She is smitten but he has to leave before they can meet again. She runs into him again later and they spend weeks together. Then the rest of it follow something that seems like the plot out of one of her books. I don’t want to give too much away but if you’ve read Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, you’ll have the general idea.

It was a fun read, I didn’t feel like I wasted my time but it wasn’t the most amazing thing I’ve ever read. I have found myself drawn to these what if style stories lately though so I didn’t mind reading through it. I am glad that I downloaded it on my nook from the library and didn’t pay for it. I wouldn’t mind owning it but it isn’t something I HAVE to own.

Final Rating:

Get it used...

Leave a comment

Filed under historical fiction, Review

Leave a Reply

