The Inheritance Cycle

Books: Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr

Author: Christopher Paolini

Recommend: For a light read…

the books so far...

I have to admit that for this one I watched the movie long before I got to the book. I thought the movie was alright but that it would be so much better if it was a book and so I went searching. I quickly picked up the first two books and read through them quickly. They were a lot of fun to read and easy to get through.

The story follows a boy named Eragon, who accidentally discovers a dragon egg. The egg decides that Eragon is the one meant to ride him and so it decides to hatch, stealing a plot line from Anne MacCaffrey. Mr. Paolini continues his story in a predictable but fun manner. The only complaint I had with this book was that I could exactly where he took ideas from because they were not well disguised. There are major plot points from books/movies which include, Terry Goodkind(Wizard’s First Rule series), George Lucas (Star Wars trilogy), and Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away ). I can think of more and I’m sure there are many others that would be obvious to others. I laughed when I found them, wondering if everyone else reading them found it as obvious as I did.

That being said it is a great read and I can’t wait for the next book.

 

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

