Peter Pan… Twisted

Book: The Child Thief

Author: Brom (yes only one name)

Recommend: Yes if you like real ‘fairy tales’ instead of the Disney sugar-coated versions

I love Peter Pan. I have read the original version, practically memorized the Disney movie, and have seen the play. One night I was walking through my bookstore and started looking through the employee recommended books. Sometimes I’ll come across something really good that I was unaware of. This book is one of those cases and to think I almost didn’t buy it because of the price (this is one expensive book- just warning you now)

I started reading and couldn’t seem to stop. A lot of the things I read I find gripping however this was unusually intense. This version took everything we know about Peter Pan and twisted it down the darkest path possible. I knew I was in for something very different and dark when the book opened with a child who is being molested and chooses to go with this strange boy thinking that nothing could be worse but she would be wrong. When going to ‘Neverland’ is worse than being abused… you know you are in for a dark twisted ride.

Along with the fabulous story line, the book has amazing artwork which is all done by the author. I found the art oddly familiar until I read Brom’s bio and realized that he had done art for both World of Warcraft (which I play) and Magic the Gathering (I used to be an official Wizards of the Coast tournament judge) and it all began it make perfect sense.

This book is amazing but definitely not for the faint-hearted. Definitely on my list of summer rereads 🙂

 

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under mature themes and subject matter, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

One response to “Peter Pan… Twisted

  1. Pingback: 100 favorite books for my 100th post! | The Obsessive Book Worm

Leave a Reply

