Fasination and Obsession

Book: The Swan Thieves

Author: Elizabeth Kostova

Recommend: Yes if you are looking for something with depth and intensity

I had already purchased The Historian by Ms. Kostova but hadn’t gotten around to reading it when I ran across her second book. I picked it up at my library and let it sit on my shelves until I had to get it back. I started reading it last minute and it was a day late because I couldn’t put it down.

This book was a fascinating trip through the mind of an artist who becomes obsessed with one woman, who died long before he was born. He began painting her obsessively. The understanding of the human mind and the trip into someone’s mental breakdown was fascinating and then the story took a very interesting twist that I’ll let you discover. The only fault that I found with the book was that is some places I felt like I was reading The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown but the feeling was only fleeting. The author is well educated and it shows through her writing but does not detract from it. It was refreshing to read something that felt like I had read something substantial.

Now that I have read her second book, I am excited to pick up her debut 🙂

 

Final Rating:

Get it used...

Leave a comment

Filed under historical fiction, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

Leave a Reply

