I can’t wait for the next one!

Book:Divergent
Author: Veronica Roth
Recommend: If you are fan of The Hunger Games and other dystopian society books.

I decided to read this at Barnes and Noble using my free hour of reading. I was very frustrated to find out that I could not in fact read this book for free, only the second book I have ever found like that. I stomped off and grabbed a copy off the shelves, plopping myself in one of the uncomfortable hard chairs that have replaced the big overstuffed armchairs I sorely miss.

I didn’t move for the next two hours as I devoured this debut novel. Set in what seems to be a post apocalyptic society centered around the Hub (the former Sears tower). Every person in their world must make a choice at the age of 16. A choice that they must live with for the rest of their lives. Which faction they will be a part of. Faction comes before blood, friendship or love and once a teen chooses they will live the rest of their life with their faction, forsaking everything they knew. While many choose to stay where they had been raised, others choose to move to another faction, tearing families apart forever.

I found this book to be a power packed ride through a world where your personality was more important than your family. As someone who is very different from most of the people she is around, I found it interesting because what happens when you do not fit in? What do you do when you exhibit traits from more than one faction?

The only negative I would give for this book is that some of the writing seemed a bit sloppy. It seemed like the author rushed to get the story out there instead of spending a little bit of time on things like word choice. I love the fact that most teen fiction is all about telling the story but sometimes it pays to take the time to be more selective.

I am actually trying to resist the temptation to purchase it on my nook so that I can read it again. I don’t know if I will be successful.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new :)

2 Comments

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

2 responses to “I can’t wait for the next one!

  1. I loved this one!! I actually liked it much more than The Hunger Games, and I thought the writing was a lot better, too. I do kind of remember a few things grating on me, but not nearly as much as with The Hunger Games.

    • I don’t know that I can say whether or not I like it more than The Hunger Games. I am one of those people who has a very hard time picking favorite books or even ranking them in my mind, with few exceptions. The small issues with the writing definitely weren’t enough to make me not want to read it ;)

Leave a Reply

